Challenge Completed!

readharder

When I first decided to do Book Riot‘s Read Harder Challenge, I wasn’t sure how well I’d be able to adhere to it. I’m not one for planning out my titles in advance – no matter what’s on my TBR list, I just pick up whatever I feel like reading next. The upside of the challenge is that the categories allow for a variety of selections and many of the books I ended up reading were ones that I had wanted to read (had even been sitting on my shelves!) for years. As much as I resist a set TBR, it was great to finally crack those open. I look forward to doing it again next year and seeing how many long awaited reads I can cross off my list.

Below is a roundup of everything I read with links to my reviews. Although some books would count for a number of categories, I opted to choose a separate book for each one. The only one I missed was “read a book out loud to someone else” because I have no one who needs reading to and I am not about to find a stranger to fulfill the task. That would be weird. 

Without further ado, here are my 23 titles:

hill housesacksdownload (1)WDYSHLrbgoryx and crake

Read a horror book: The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

Read a nonfiction book about science: The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks

Read a collection of essays: Best American Essays 2015

Read a book out loud to someone else

Read a middle grade novel: When Did You See Her Last? by Lemony Snicket

Read a biography (not memoir or autobiography): Notorious RBG by Irin Carmon & Shana Knizhnik

Read a dystopian or post-apocalyptic novel: Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

 

cronicadownload (3)einsteindownload (2)Georgereading lolita

Read a book originally published in the decade you were born: Crónica de una muerte anunciada por Gabriel García Márquez

Listen to an audiobook that has won an Audie Award: Bossypants by Tina Fey

Read a book over 500 pages long: Einstein: His Life and Universe by Walter Isaacson

Read a book under 100 pages: We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Read a book by or about a person that identifies as transgender: George by Alex Gino

Read a book that is set in the Middle East: Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi

 

download (4)rootsshatter-memarch onechocolatebad feminist

Read a book that is by an author from Southeast Asia: Teachings on Love by Thich Nhat Hahn

Read a book of historical fiction set before 1900: Roots by Alex Haley

Read the first book in a series by a person of color: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Read a non-superhero comic that debuted in the last three years: March: Book One by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, & Nate Powell

Read a book that was adapted into a movie, then watch the movie. Debate which is better: Como agua para chocolate por Laura Esquivel + movie review

Read a nonfiction book about feminism or dealing with feminist themes: Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

 

Blankets_coversingle ladiesMyLifeinFranceCoverproofdownload (5)

Read a book about religion (fiction or nonfiction): Blankets by Craig Thompson

Read a book about politics, in your country or another (fiction or nonfiction): All the Single Ladies by Rebecca Traister

Read a food memoir: My Life in France by Julia Child & Alex Prud’Homme

Read a play: Proof by David Auburn

Read a book with a main character that has a mental illness: Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness by Susannah Cahalan

One thought on “Challenge Completed!

  1. Pingback: 2016 Reading Year in Review & 2017 Goals | The Thousand Book Project

Leave a Reply

