The Sunshine Blogger Award

sunshineThank you to Lucinda of Lucinda is reading for nominating me for the Sunshine Blogger Award! The rules:

Thank the person who nominated you.
Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you.
Nominate 11 bloggers to receive the award and write them 11 new questions to answer.

So, to take a break from my regularly scheduled book reviews, here are my answers to Lucinda’s questions.

1. Have you ever read a book that’s changed your life? If so, how?
I’m not sure there’s one book in particular, so much as many books in many ways. The first that comes to mind is Native Son, which was not only influential in exemplifying how little race relations have changed, but also one of my favorite books we discussed in my former book club because I saw how it opened one of our member’s eyes. It reminded me of the importance of reading and discussing books and made me feel like the book club was doing important work.

2. What book did you hate as a child? Why?
I really wanted to like White Fang because it was about a dog, but it was sooo boring.

3. If you could spend 24 hours living someone else’s life, who would you choose and why?
I’m going with a controversial answer and saying the current president. I’d spend one day in his mind and report back my findings. Consider it taking a huge one for the team.

4. What would the title of your autobiography be?
You Can’t Touch My Hair. (Dang it, already taken!)

5. How do you imagine yourself 10 years from now?
I’m not sure, but I hope I’m a lot happier than I am now.

6. What big, obvious, hugely popular books have you not read?
The Lord of the Rings. And I’m never going to! I read The Hobbit when I was young and that was plenty Tolkien for me.

7. What are your thoughts on audiobooks?
I wish I could listen to them without falling asleep or my mind drifting off. I’ve had some great reading experiences listening to the audio while reading – Born a Crime in particular – but if I just listen to audio I feel like I miss so much because I just can’t focus my attention.

8. Have you ever been to a festival or convention?
Yes. I think the last one I went to was for bakers and baking products.

9. If you could go back in time and re-do one experience or event, what would it be?
I would say that I would choose to go to a different college, one that wasn’t so punishingly difficult and so excruciatingly expensive, but then I wouldn’t have met one of my best friends, so…

10. Can you estimate how many books you’ve read in your lifetime?
I have no idea. Counting everything I read as a kid and in school, I’m probably near a thousand. Maybe? I really don’t know.

11. What three things have you done in your life that you think have improved you as a person?
1 – Taking charge of managing my weight in a smart way. It’s been nearly 20 years and I’ve kept the weight off the entire time.
2 – Not writing off an ex simply because he’s an ex. It’s very easy for me to cut people out of my life. It’s not so easy for me to continue a friendship with someone when there’s been a major rupture.
3 – I’m on the verge of making a major change right now, so I hope I can look back and say that this thing improved me, too!

My questions:

1. If you could meet one person, alive or dead, who would it be?
2. Do you hoard books or do you buy/borrow, read, and then let them go?
3. Do your books look read when you’re done with them or do you keep them in pristine condition?
4. If you couldn’t use your phone for a day, would you panic or would you feel free?
5. Could you live without social media?
6. If you could recommend one tv show for people to watch, what would it be and why?
7. If an author, or other artist, makes a comment you don’t agree with, does it change how you feel about their work?
8. Sweet or salty?
9. Romance or adventure?
10. Breakfast for breakfast or breakfast for dinner?
11. If you could pick one person to narrate every audiobook, who would it be?

I nominate: the ladies of Thrice Read, Shay Shortt of Required Reading, Brenhines Books, and the ladies of The Reader’s Room.

5 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Great answers! I read the Hobbit when I was really young and hated it, but tried Lord of the Rings as an older teenager and loved it. Maybe Tolkein is worth another look? Or maybe your dislike ran far deeper than mine 🙂 Its good to know I’m not the only one who can’t fully absorb audio books – I think it’s because I only listen to them when I’m cooking or cleaning and I get easily distracted, or interrupted by some noisy appliance. Does anyone just sit quietly and listen to them?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I think I’d be more willing to give Tolkien another shot if I didn’t just generally dislike the fantasy genre. I kind of put him on the “when I’ve run out of all other books” shelf ;).

      Re: audiobooks, I wonder if so many of us have trouble with them because readers tend to be visual learners. Maybe those who are less visually inclined have better success at focusing on the audio while doing other things? Whenever I try to just listen to audio I fall asleep about 10 min in…which I guess is good to know if I start to suffer from insomnia!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m definitely a visual learner, so you might be right. I also find audio books infuriatingly slow – if I sat down and did nothing while listening to one I know I’d be thinking “I could have read this by now”. Haha, if you do get insomnia I think you should download some Tolkein – you’d be asleep in seconds!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

