135 Your Move: The Underdog’s Guide to Building Your Business

yourmoveby Ramit Sethi, 2017

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not easily convinced to pay for services online. I may read all of a site’s free information, but when it comes to plunking down a hefty sum, I clock out. Such has been the case with Ramit Sethi’s business products, about which I’ve been reading as they make their way to my inbox. Sethi talks a big game on his website and has copious testimonials to backup his claims and, hey, it might all be true, but I just can’t be convinced to fork over hundreds of dollars on simple faith. However, when Sethi’s latest ebook was released for the low price of $.99, I figured, Why not? I wanted to know more and for once the price was right.

I was not entirely wrong in my reservations. Sethi spends an inordinate amount of time in the slim volume reiterating how much his business is worth, how much he sells his products for, and how much his clients now make. Money is important – this is business, after all – but the effect of the repetition is egregious. It’s as if a used car salesman were screaming at me from my phone to BUY NOW, you’d be a FOOL to pass this up, EVERYONE ELSE IS WINNING DON’T YOU WANT TO WIN TOO? After finishing the book, I get that he’s following one of his own principles to pitch early and often, but it’s a bit off-putting when it appears that the sole purpose of your book is get me to spend more money on you.

Fortunately, there’s more to Your Move than this schtick. Where Sethi shines is in his inclusion of clients who share the ways in which they increased their own businesses. There’s no step-by-step guide here, but the clients offer some valuable insight that any business owner could apply to their own work. I particularly enjoyed reading the section by Graham Cochrane, in which he explains how offering higher priced products or services, while also increasing the value of the product or the service, increases your revenue. Many people may still purchase the basic plan, but for those willing and able to spend more, having a silver and a gold plan opens you up to that extra bit of cash.

I also found value in Sethi’s discussion on the psychology of business. I think many of us, myself included, suffer from some amount of imposter syndrome, so it’s reassuring to hear Sethi address this common obstacle. His adage to “focus on what you can control, ignore what you cannot” is rather powerful – you can’t control how much the person on another site makes, you can’t control how much someone else claims to rake in, and you can’t control the fact that people will always criticize you, but you can control how much work you dedicate to your endeavor. “[W]hat we don’t see are all the mistakes they made, all the misses, all the times they fell down. They’re there, trust me, they just don’t want you to see them.”

Your Move is short and easy to finish in one day and, well, worth the time it took to read it. I’m still not ready to throw down a significant sum of money and Sethi would probably tell me that’s my loss – and it may well be – but there is some decent advice to be found here. If you’re expecting a how-to guide on making it rich with your side gig, you should look elsewhere, but if you want some moderate guidance to steer you in the right direction, Your Move won’t do you wrong.

starstarstarstar whitestar white

Leave a Reply

